Jul 25, 2022

Popular Cloud Security Certifications

1. Google Professional Cloud Security Engineer Certification
  • This certification showcases your expertise in designing, configuring, and implementing secure infrastructures on the Google Cloud Platform.
  • Key competencies include configuring identity and access management, defining security policies, implementing network security, analyzing logs, and managing incident responses.
  • Suitable job titles: Cloud security engineers, solutions engineers, cloud architects.
  • Requirements: No prerequisites, but Google recommends at least three years of experience, including one year with the Google Cloud Platform.
  • Cost (US): $200

2. Microsoft Certified Azure Security Engineer Associate Certification
  • Passing the AZ-500 exam for this Microsoft Azure credential certifies your skills in scripting, automation, networking, virtualization, and cloud architecture.
  • Tested skills encompass configuring and managing secure access in Azure Active Directory, platform protection implementation, managing security operations using Azure Monitor, Security Center, and Sentinel, and securing data and applications.
  • Note: Exam AZ-500 updated on August 2, 2021.
  • Target job titles: Cybersecurity engineers, cloud DevOps engineers, Azure security engineers, security and integration architects.
  • Requirements: None.
  • Cost (US): $165

3. AWS Certified Security Certification
  • The AWS Certified Security - Specialty credential is ideal for those seeking security roles in organizations using Amazon Web Services (AWS).
  • Skills validated include encrypting and classifying data in AWS, implementing secure internet protocols, creating secure production environments with AWS security services, and understanding security operations and risk management.
  • Target job titles: Security architects, cloud security engineers, information security analysts, security and compliance engineers.
  • Requirements: No prerequisites, but AWS recommends at least two years of experience securing AWS workloads and five years of general IT security experience.
  • Cost (US): $300

4. CompTIA Cloud+ Certification
  • The CompTIA Cloud+ certification validates your ability to plan, deploy, and automate secure cloud environments.
  • Topics in the CV0-003 exam cover high availability and disaster recovery, automation and virtualization, cloud architecture, identity and access management, securing networks in a cloud environment, and OS and application security controls.
  • Target job titles: Cloud specialists, cloud architects, information security managers, vulnerability testers, cybersecurity cloud specialists.
  • Requirements: No specific prerequisites, but CompTIA recommends two to three years of systems administration or networking experience, along with CompTIA Network+ and Server+ certifications.
  • Cost (US): $358

5. Certified Cloud Security Professional (CCSP) Certification
  • The CCSP certification, offered by (ISC)², is designed for cloud security professionals with advanced technical skills.
  • The exam tests knowledge across six domains: cloud architecture and design, cloud data security, cloud platform and infrastructure security, cloud application security, legal and compliance, and cloud security operations.
  • Target job titles: Cyber integration engineers, information security auditors, incident response specialists, senior security analysts, cloud application security consultants.
  • Requirements: Requires passing an exam and a minimum of five years of paid IT work experience, with at least three years in information security.
  • Cost (US): $599

6. Certificate of Cloud Security Knowledge (CCSK)
  • The CCSK, from the Cloud Security Alliance (CSA), covers key cloud security topics enabling customization of security solutions in cloud environments.
  • Topics include cloud architecture, governance, risk management, legal issues, infrastructure security, data security and encryption, incident response, application security, and security as a service.
  • Target job titles: Threat analysts, cybersecurity architects, ethical hackers, security analysts, IT security engineers.
  • Requirements: No experience requirements.
  • Cost (US): $395

7. GIAC Cloud Security Automation (GCSA) Certification
  • The GCSA certification is for those interested in building and deploying secure systems and applications.
  • It covers cloud security fundamentals, cloud security monitoring, compliance, container and microservice security, data protection, and DevOps and DevSecOps fundamentals and controls.
  • Target job titles: Security consultants, application security analysts, security engineers, cloud security developers, DevSecOps engineers.
  • Requirements: No prerequisites for the GCSA certification exam.
  • Cost (US): $949

8. Are Cloud Security Certifications Worth It?

The value of earning a cloud security certification depends on your career aspirations. While the investment involves time and money, certifications can provide a competitive advantage in job applications. According to an (ISC)² survey, obtaining a cybersecurity certification can result in an average salary increase of $18,000 in the US.

No comments:

Post a Comment