Jun 30, 2022

6 Network Certifications

    Certifications aren't always mandatory, they can swiftly validate your skill set for employers. Network certifications enhance your resume and equip you with essential skills vital for success in the IT industry.

1. Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA)

The CCNA, a cornerstone certification, covers extensive networking fundamentals and is offered by Cisco, a major player in the networking industry. Cisco provides entry (CCT), professional (CCNP), and expert-level (CCDE) certifications in addition to CCNA.
  • Cost: $300
  • Requirements: One exam, no prerequisites (though one year of Cisco solutions experience is recommended).
  • Topics: Network access, IP connectivity, IP services, security, automation, and programmability.
2. CompTIA Network+

This certification assesses your grasp of networking basics, irrespective of the technology's origin. CompTIA also offers the entry-level IT certification, CompTIA A+.
  • Cost: $338
  • Requirements: One exam, no prerequisites (though 9-12 months of networking experience or CompTIA A+ certification is recommended).
  • Topics: Essential networking concepts, cabling, device, and storage technologies, network management, security, and troubleshooting methodology.

3. Juniper Networks Certified Associate - Junos (JNCIA-Junos)

It is an associate-level certification from Juniper Networks, serves as the foundation for advanced certifications in data center, enterprise, or service provider routing and switching technologies.
  • Cost: $200
  • Requirements: One exam, no prerequisites.
  • Topics: Junos OS fundamentals, configuration basics, routing policy, firewall filters, and transit traffic processing.

4. SolarWinds Certified Professional

This certification validates your proficiency in using and maintaining SolarWinds network and system products, widely used in specific sectors like government and accounting.
  • Cost: $200
  • Requirements: One exam, no prerequisites.
  • Topics: Diagnostics, database performance analysis, network configuration, performance monitoring, and network architecture.

5. Aruba Certified Mobility Associate (ACMA)

For those dealing with Aruba networking features, ACMA ensures expertise in designing, setting up, and configuring basic Aruba Wireless Local Area Networks. Earning three out of five associate-level Aruba certifications grants Aruba Edge Associate status.
  • Cost: $230
  • Requirements: One exam, no prerequisites (though candidates are encouraged to take an Aruba Mobility Fundamentals course).
  • Topics: Aruba WLAN essentials, utilizing V8 operating system architecture.

6. VMWare Certified Technical Associate -Network Virtualization (VCTA-NV)

For virtualization enthusiasts, VCTA-NV provides fundamental knowledge of the VMWare NSX network virtualization platform, testing skills in NSX terminology, graphical user interfaces, and core technical aspects.
  • Cost: $125
  • Requirements: One exam, no prerequisites.
  • Topics: Installation, configuration, setup, performance tuning, optimization, fundamental architecture, planning, designing, and troubleshooting.

No comments:

Post a Comment